Alhambra and Seville's Real Alcázar: who needs headsets, and where guides must stay silent (2026)

Summarize with AI:ChatGPTClaudePerplexityGrokGoogle AI Mode
Both palaces require guided groups to use headsets, and in practice the guide brings them: the Real Alcázar no longer rents radio guides, and the Alhambra's Patronato lists no rental. The Alhambra draws the line above six people, the Alcázar above eight.
What does the Alhambra require?
Guided groups of more than six people must tour the Alhambra and Generalife with a group guiding system of microphone and wireless earphones. The Patronato's visiting instruction gives noise reduction as the reason and caps groups at 30 people, teachers or group leaders included, children under three excluded.
The binding text is the visiting normativa published in the Andalusian official gazette (BOJA) on 24 January 2020 and in force since 1 March 2020. Its wording on hardware is looser: groups of more than six "deberán acceder [...] con algún sistema de audífonos, que permita realizar la visita de forma discreta", that is, must enter with some earphone system that allows a discreet visit.
Tourist groups must be led by a licensed tourist guide, who may not leave the group at any point. The Patronato's website lists no receiver rental for groups; its audio guide page offers a free audio guide in a trial phase.
Where can't guides explain anything at the Alhambra?
In four narrow spaces the Patronato forbids explanations altogether: the Cuarto Dorado, the Hall of the Two Sisters, the Hall of the Abencerrajes and the North Gallery of the Generalife. The ban covers narration itself, so headsets do not lift it, and staff can extend it to other spaces when they get crowded.
Treat these rooms as silent stops: explain before the group goes in, walk through, and continue outside. The same applies to a phone-based system: the rule is about explaining, not about volume.

What does Seville's Real Alcázar require?
From age six, groups of more than eight people led by an official guide must use radio guides in the Real Alcázar, and the guides must bring them. The Alcázar states that radio guides can no longer be rented on site. School visits led by their own teachers are exempt.
The rule appears on the Alcázar's page for schools and cites "la normativa", which is not among the documents on the Alcázar's transparency page. The Alcázar's own audio guide already runs on visitors' phones: its visit page offers it through a QR code.

How do the two rules compare?
The two palaces set different lines and use different words, but in both the equipment is in practice the guide's to bring. The table compares the published rules as checked on 2 October 2026.
| Alhambra and Generalife | Real Alcázar de Sevilla | |
|---|---|---|
| Rule applies from | 7 people | 9 people, age 6 and over |
| Device wording | Microphone and wireless earphones; "algún sistema de audífonos" in the 2020 rules | "radioguías" |
| Who supplies it | Not stated; no rental listed | The guide; no rental on site |
| Maximum group | 30 | Not stated on the page |
| No-explanation spaces | Four narrow spaces | None published |
Does a phone-based system meet these rules?
Neither text names a device type. The Alhambra's 2020 rules ask for "algún sistema de audífonos" that allows a discreet visit, and the Alcázar asks for radio guides brought by the guide. A phone-based system may fit that wording, but only each Patronato can confirm it, so ask in writing before the season.
With Your Next Tours, the guide's phone broadcasts over a pocket WiFi router and guests listen in their phone's browser through their own earphones after scanning a QR code. Nothing is rented, and no internet connection is needed during the visit.
What should guides check before an Alhambra or Alcázar visit?
- Count the group against both lines: seven or more at the Alhambra, nine or more at the Alcázar.
- Bring a system: the Alcázar no longer rents radio guides, and the Alhambra lists no rental.
- Keep Alhambra groups at 30 or fewer and be on time for the Nasrid Palaces slot; a late group can lose its visit.
- Mark the four silent spaces on your Alhambra route and move those explanations to the courtyards.
- Ask both Patronatos in writing whether a phone-based system counts, and carry the reply.
- Tell guests in advance to bring charged phones and earphones.
Frequently asked questions
Does the guide count toward the Alhambra's six?
What happens if a group arrives without headsets at the Alhambra?
Can we rent radio guides at the Real Alcázar?
Do guests need internet inside the palaces for a phone-based system?
Try it on your next tour
In both palaces the system is the guide's to bring, and your guests already carry phones. Create a tour in the guide app, share the QR code before the entrance and narrate at room volume. See how the broadcast works or compare costs on our rental cost page. Our world overview lists the Alhambra, its silent spaces and the Real Alcázar with other countries' rules.
Sources
Official sources
Translations of the Spanish rule texts are ours; the Spanish originals are authoritative.
Related articles
GuidesQuiet guiding in China and Japan: loudspeaker bans from the Forbidden City to Kyoto's temples (2026)
GuidesHow long should a group spend at an archaeological site?
GuidesUS walking tour rules on loudspeakers and group size: Savannah, Charleston, New Orleans and Salem (2026)
GuidesGroup audio rules at the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum and other Amsterdam sites (2026)
GuidesSintra's palaces require radio guides for more than ten visitors per guide, and you bring your own (2026)
GuidesWhich Madrid museums let groups bring their own headsets? Prado, Reina Sofía and Thyssen (2026)